ACUHO-I announced eight newly elected Executive Board members who will lead the Association starting January 2024.

Olan Garrett was elected Vice President. He is the associate vice president for student affairs at Temple University and will transition from the Finance and Corporate Records Officer role on the Executive Board to vice president. Garrett is a member of the NHTI class of 2004 and a 2013 ACUHO-I Professional Standards Institute graduate. He is a co-lead for the Future of the Profession Workforce Sustainability imperative. He has also served as an NHTI faculty member, a member of the core leadership team for the ACUHO-I Program Committee, and a member of the Regional Affiliation Task Force. At the regional level, he has been involved in both the GLACUHO and MACUHO regions.2024 executive board

Kirsten Kennedy was elected Finance and Corporate Records Officer. Kennedy, the associate vice president for the residential experience at the University of South Carolina, had previously served as the Knowledge Enhancement Director on the Executive Board from 2018 to 2020. She will transition from her Finance and Corporate Records Officer role for the ACUHO-I Foundation into her Executive Board role. Along with that experience, she has served as NHTI faculty, Senior Housing Officer Institute faculty and co-chair, and Professional Standards Institute faculty. Additionally, she has served as faculty for the SEAHO region’s RELI three times and co-chair once. She also edited and co-authored the ACUHO-I published book Making a Difference: Improving Residence Life Assessment Practices in 2016.

Janie Sacco was elected Knowledge Enhancement Director. Sacco is the assistant director for occupancy management at the University of Washington, Seattle campus. With over a decade of experience in housing and residence life, she has served as the President of NWACUHO and as a member of the 2021 ACUHO-I Leadership Academy Cohort, which conducted a review of the role of Black women in leadership within housing and residential life. Most recently, she has served as the ACUHO-I Foundation Representative for the NWACUHO region and chair of the ACUHO-I research committee. Sacco is also an adjunct professor at Saint Martin’s University, where she teaches courses in women’s, gender, and ethnic studies.

Marykatherine Woodson was elected Inclusion and Equity Director. Woodson, the associate director of residence life at Rochester Institute of Technology, was a member of the inaugural class of the ACUHO-I Leadership Academy and has served as an ex-officio trustee member for the ACUHO-I Foundation Board.

Tiffany Bromfield was elected Regional Affiliations Director. Bromfield is the associate director for residence life and inclusion at SUNY Buffalo State University. She is an alumna of the Leadership Academy and serves on the coordinating committee. She also serves as the New York District Coordinator on the NEACUHO executive board.

Casey Tullos was elected Residence Education Director. Tullos, associate vice chancellor for student affairs at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, is an associate member of UNC Charlotte’s graduate faculty and teaches a course for first-generation graduate students. She is also a founding member and facilitator of UNC Charlotte’s Student Affairs Supervisor Institute, designed to support new and mid-level managers. Tullos is a 2018 Senior Housing Officer Institute graduate currently serving on the Strategic Partnerships committee of ACUHO-I’s Future of the Profession Initiative.

Steven Herndon was reappointed as director of the Future of the Profession Initiative. Herndon, who is the assistant vice president for student living at Syracuse University, will serve in this ex-officio position for a third year. Previously, he served as faculty for the 2019 ACUHO-I James C. Grimm National Housing Training Institute and as co-chair for ACUHO-I’s Anti-Racism Task Force in 2020. Regionally, he served as faculty for the 2018 GLACUHO Mid-Level Institute and was the region’s President-Elect in 2021. Herndon was also selected as a member of ACPA’s 2022 Diamond Honoree cohort.

TJ Logan was appointed as the Business Development Director. Logan, who is the associate vice president for the residential experience at The Ohio State University, will serve in this ex-officio position for one year. He previously served as the Business Practices and Enhancements Director on the ACUHO-I Executive Board. He currently serves as the Co-Chair for the Global Housing Training Institute being held in the UK this November. He has provided expertise during COVID-19 response in higher education and is a faculty member for the ACUHO-I Senior Housing Officer Institute. He is also an established speaker on the topics of social media in higher education, innovation in university housing operations, enrollment management trends, occupancy management, and business operations.

These newly elected Board members will begin their terms January 1, 2024.