Future of the Profession

A forward-looking initiative to design a stronger, healthier, and more sustainable campus housing profession.


The Journal of College and University Student Housing is ACUHO-I’s academic journal. It provides readers with scholarly insight into the most vital housing and student affairs topics.

The ACUHO-I Journal of College and University Student Housing publishes three issues a year featuring scholarly manuscripts written by and for faculty members, researchers, practitioners, and students alike. What they all have in common is a passion for scholarship that addresses practical application to the field of campus housing and residence life.

Thorough, peer-reviewed research explores student development, community, inclusion and equity, facility design, student outcomes, leadership, staff satisfaction and development, and more. Original empirical research, methodological articles, and case studies all deliver well-researched information you can use to better understand the factors that affect your campus housing operations, the staff who operate them, and the students who rely on them.

The Journal of College & University Student Housing is also an accessible and valuable way to enhance your staff training or classroom. Each manuscript is accompanied by carefully crafted discussion questions, and information from the Journal may be used for educational purposes without restriction. However, ACUHO-I does request that proper identification of the author, the publication, and the association be included. Users are also encouraged to link readers to the online version of the publication where applicable.

New Journal Now Available

The latest issue of the Journal of College & University Student Housing is now available. FIlled with valuable peer-reviewed research, these articles will help you impove the student experience. residence hall design and depression, staff well-being in the wake of COVID, disability in campus housing, undocumented students, and re-visioning how bulletin boards can help assess student learning.

Read More

Journal Board

The ACUHO-I Journal Board is driven by its purposeful practitioner focus and seeks contributions where the subject’s application to practice is clearly articulated. The editorial board leads the selection and editing process with the support of a dedicated team of reviewers. These volunteers bring a valuable combination of practitioner experience and academic rigor to create publications that positively influence the campus housing profession. Contact the ACUHO-I staff or any member of the board to learn how you can get involved.

Phil Badaszewski

Phil Badaszewski, University of Delaware

Denise Davidson

Denise Davidson, Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania

Journal associate editor Jamie Penven

Jamie Penven, Virginia Tech

Gudrun Nyunt

Gudrun Nyunt, Northern Illinois University

James Stoner

James "J.C." Stoner, University of Texas at Dallas


  • Rachel Aho, University of Utah (2024)
  • Katie Boone, Cabrini University (2022)
  • Stephanie Brescia, Rutgers University (2024)
  • Ryan Bronkema, University of West Georgia (2023)
  • Colleen Bunn, Hartwick College (2024)
  • Tony Cawthon, Clemson University (2024)
  • Ange Concepcion, Wagner College (2024)
  • Munita Dunn-Coetzee, Stellenbosch University (2022)
  • Adam Z. Duran-Leftin, Florida International University (2024)
  • Ryan Erck, Baylor University (2024)
  • Amber Fallucca, University of South Carolina (2022)
  • Kyle Fassett, National Survey of Student Engagement (2023)
  • Ileana Garcia, North Carolina State University (2024)
  • Brad Johnson, University of North Carolina – Greensboro (2022)
  • Dena Kniess, University of West Georgia (2022)
  • Carolynn Komanski, University of Florida (2024)
  • Chris MacDonald, West Virginia University (2024)
  • Tracey Mason-Innes, Simon Fraser University (2023)
  • Saralyn McKinnon-Crowley, Georgia Institute of Technology (2023)
  • Danielle Molina, Mississippi State University (2023)
  • Amanda Mollett, The University of Kansas (2023)
  • Lyn Redington, University of Iowa (2024)
  • Erik Sorensen, Miami University (2024)
  • Ashley Staples, The Ohio State University (2023)
  • Dale Tampke, Texas Woman’s University (2024)
  • Kelly Thacker, Indiana University Bloomington (2024)
  • Ashley Tull, Texas Christian University (2023)
  • Rachel Wagner, Clemson University (2023)
  • Anthony White, Radford University (2024)
  • Jamie Workman, Valdosta State University (2023)
The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.